The United Republic of Tanzania was formed out of the union of the two sovereign states of Tanganyika and Zanzibar in April of 1964.  It is located in Eastern Africa between longitude 29o and 41o East, Latitude 1o and 12o South.  The country’s eastern border lies on the Indian Ocean.  The Government of the United Republic of Tanzania is a unitary republic consisting of the Union Government and the Zanzibar Revolutionary Government.

Of the more than 32 million people that live in Tanzania, approximately one-third are Christians, one-third are Muslim and one-third are Indigenous Beliefs.

View Larger Map